International Journal of Natural Computing Research (IJNCR)

International Journal of Natural Computing Research (IJNCR)

Editor-in-Chief: Leandro Nunes de Castro (Mackenzie University, Brazil)
Published Quarterly. Est. 2010.
ISSN: 1947-928X|EISSN: 1947-9298|DOI: 10.4018/IJNCR
Individual Prices for Volume 6 (2016)
Print +
Free E-Access:
List Price: $275.00
E-Access +
Free Print Copy:
List Price: $275.00
Free Lifetime E-Access with Print Purchase
IGI Global is now offering Free Lifetime E-Access with Print Purchase of any book or journal subscription. In addition to the print copy purchased, this unprecedented offer provides libraries and individuals alike the ability to access the purchased publication through the award winning InfoSci® platform. The InfoSci® platform offers unlimited simultaneous access to full HTML and PDF viewing with the ability to save, print, copy, and paste! No hidden fees! No limitations! Learn More.

Immediate e-access available to existing InfoSci® customers. New customers will be provided access within 48 hours from purchase.


The International Journal of Natural Computing Research (IJNCR) provides a forum for researchers to disseminate knowledge on natural computing and to serve as a reference source for state-of-the-art innovative findings. IJNCR provides a comprehensive view of all aspects of natural computing with emphasis on its main branches.

Topics Covered

  • Artificial chemistry
  • Artificial Immune Systems
  • Artificial Life
  • Artificial Neural Networks
  • Cellular automata
  • Fractal geometry
  • Genetic and evolutionary algorithms
  • Growth and developmental algorithms
  • Molecular Computing
  • Quantum Computing
  • Swarm Intelligence


The mission of the International Journal of Natural Computing Research (IJNCR) is to serve as a world-leading forum for the publication of scientific and technological papers involving all main areas of natural computing, namely, nature-inspired computing, methods to computationally synthesize natural phenomena, and novel computing paradigms based on natural materials. This journal publishes original material, theoretical and experimental applications, and review papers on the process of extracting ideas from nature to develop computational systems or materials to perform computation.

Table of Contents and List of Contributors

Search this Journal:
Open Access Articles: Forthcoming
Volume 6: 4 Issues (2016): Forthcoming, Available for Pre-Order
Volume 5: 4 Issues (2015): 3 Released, 1 Forthcoming
Volume 4: 4 Issues (2014)
Volume 3: 4 Issues (2012)
Volume 2: 4 Issues (2011)
Volume 1: 4 Issues (2010)
View Complete Journal Contents Listing


ACM Digital LibraryACM Digital Library
Bacon's Media Directory
Cabell's DirectoriesCabell's Directories
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar
The Standard Periodical Directory
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory

Editor(s)-in-Chief Biography

Leandro Nunes de Castro received a BSc degree in electrical engineering from the Federal University of Goias (Brazil, 1996) and MSc and PhD degrees in computer engineering from the State University of Campinas (Unicamp) (São Paulo, Brazil) in 1998 and 2001, respectively. He received a MBA (2007) in strategic business management from the Catholic University of Santos. He was a research associate with the Computing Laboratory at UKC (Canterbury, UK) from 2001 to 2002, a visiting lecturer at Unicamp from 2002 to 2003, a senior research fellow at the Wernher von Braun Center for Advanced Research from May to December 2004, and a visiting lecturer at the Universiti Technologi Malaysia (Johor, MY) in September 2005. In May 2003, he joined the Catholic University of Santos (UniSantos) as an assistant professor in computer science and established collaborations with the Federal University of Bahia (UFBA) and the Federal University of Minas Gerais (UFMG).

Leandro is currently an associate professor at Mackenzie University. He has broad interest in all natural computing approaches with a particular emphasis on biologically inspired computing including artificial immune systems, artificial neural networks, evolutionary algorithms, swarm intelligence, fractal geometry, and artificial life. He is the main author of Artificial Immune Systems: A New Computational Intelligence Approach published by Springer-Verlag (UK, 2002), one of the editors of Recent Developments in Biologically Inspired Computing published by Idea Group Inc. (USA, 2004), and the author of Fundamentals of Natural Computing: Basic Concepts, Algorithms, and Applications published by CRC Press LLC (June 2006). He has published over seventy-five conference papers, twenty journal papers and six book chapters mostly covering natural computing approaches. He has been a member of the IEEE Computational Intelligence Society since 1999, ICARIS (International Conference on Artificial Immune Systems) Steering Committee since 2003, the Brazilian Society for Automation (SBA) since 1998, and the Brazilian Computing Society (SBC) since 2006. In February 2007 he started a company on natural computing, named “NatComp – from Nature to Business”, which he is the Director of Research, Development, and Innovation (RDI).

Editorial Board

Associate Editors
Martyn Amos, Manchester Metropolitan University, United Kingdom
Wolfgang Banzhaf, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada
Peter Bentley, University College London, United Kingdom
Carlos Artemio Coello, CINVESTAV-IPN, Mexico
Ernesto Costa, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Pedr de Oliveira, Universidade Presbiteriana Mackenzie, Brazil
Mika Hirvensalo, University of Turku, Finland
Luis Rocha, Indiana University, United States
Jon Timmis, University of York, United Kingdom
Fernando Jose Von Zuben, State University of Campinas, Brazil
Editorial Review Board
Arturo Aguirre, Centre for Research in Mathematics, Mexico
Gina Maira Barbosa de Oliveira, Federal University of Uberlândia, Brazil
Guilherme Coelho, University of Campinas, Brazil
Luis Correia, University of Lisbon, Portugal
Carlos Cotta, Universidad de Málaga, Spain
Nareli Cruz-Cortès, Center for Computing Research (CIC) of the National Polytechnic Institute (IPN), Mexico
Fabrício Olivetti de França, Federal University of ABC, Brazil
Renato Dourado Maia, State University of Montes Claros, Brazil
Rusins Freivalds, University of Latvia, Latvia
Pierluigi Frisco, Heriot-Watt University, United Kingdom
Henryk Fukś, Brock University, Canada
Roderich Gross, The University of Sheffield, United Kingdom
Pauline Haddow, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
Emma Hart, Edinburgh Napier University, United Kingdom
Andy Hone, University of Kent at Canterbury, United Kingdom
Greg Hornby, University of California Santa Cruz, United States
Sanjeev Kumar, Perot Systems Corporation, United States
André Leier, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich, Switzerland
Angelo Loula, State University of Feira de Santana, Brazil
Efrén Mezura-Montes, Laboratorio Nacional de Informática Avanzada, Mexico
Julian Miller, University of York, United Kingdom
Melanie Mitchell, Portland State University, United States
Beatrice Palano, University of Milan, Italy
Nelisha Pillay, University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Alfonso Rodriquez-Paton, Campus de Montegancedo, Spain
Juan Carlos Seck Tuoh Mora, Autonomous University of Hidalgo, Mexico
Michael Simpson, University of Tennessee, United States
Pietro Speroni di Fenizio, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Gunnar Tufte, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway