Acknowledgment

Without the continual help of my supervisor, Gary Boyd, and the support of IGI Global, this handbook would not have been possible. Seminal works from the handbook contributors played and continue to play a key role in shaping this evolving domain and challenging my own views of conversation theory and design. This prestigious list of scholars includes: Elisabeth André, Niels Ole Bernsen, Shelley H. Billig, Gary Boyd, Jason G. Caudill, Guadalupe de la Cruz Mendoza, Vanessa P. Dennen, Thomas M. Duffy, Laila Dybkjær, Ranulph Glanville, Sheila Harri-Augstein, Janet Holland, Li Jin, Albert Ingram, Nick Kearney, Gulsun Kurubacak, Kit H. Leung, Tong Liu, Gregory MacKinnon, Jean Morrow, F. F. Ng, Paul Pangaro, Bernard Scott, Lorraine Sherry, Melinda Sota, Helga Stokes, Laurie Thomas, Brian Whitworth, Alyssa Wise, and Bob Zimmer. The majority of the chapter authors included in this book also served as referees for chapters written by other authors. A special thanks go to all those who provided constructive and comprehensive reviews. Nonetheless, the author takes full responsibility for any errors, omissions, or weaknesses in this work.

Sincerely,

Rocci Luppicini, Editor 2007