ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

The authors wish to acknowledge Indiana University-Purdue University at Indianapolis and Montana State University for their support of the authors' work on this book. The authors thank their families for their patience and support during the project and thank the many colleagues and friends who have contributed to the development of their thinking about Internet portals. In particular, Mark Sheehan wishes to thank Keiko Pitter of Whitman College for the many discussions in which she helped frame his perspective.

In addition, the authors wish to thank the following individuals who participated in their Summer 2001 survey (in alphabetical order by institution).

Katherine Ranes, Arizona State University Don Davis, Azusa Pacific University Donald King, Jr., Ball State University Stephen Pollard, California State University at Los Angeles Kenneth Pflueger, California Lutheran University Margaret Lynn Lester, Clarke College Phil Lyles, Clemson University Sissy Ehrhardt, College of Charleston Janell K. Baran, Denison University Peter Day, Emory University Carole Meyers, Emory University Brent T. Jaeger, Grinnell College Blair Combs, Idaho State University Kevin Shalla, Illinois Institute of Technology Steve Brunner, Indiana University Barry Walsh, Indiana University Kirk Job Sluder, Indiana University Gary Wiggins, Indiana University Bill Orme, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis Joy Starks, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis Martha McCormick, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis Ken Duckworth, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis Ed Sullivan, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis Edward C. Squires, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis Sharon Hamilton, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis Eugenia Fernandez, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis Gloria Quiroz, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis Ann Kratz, Indiana Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis Monica R. Peterson, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis

xiv

Amy C. Warner, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis Tony Holderith, Interactive Business Solutions Tim Foley, Lehigh University Joseph Aulino, Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Medicine Jerry Harder, Nazarene University David Koehler, Princeton University Judith Clark, Distributed National Electronic Resource (UK) Stephen G. Landry, PhD, Seton Hall University Beth Du Pont, Skidmore College Morgan R. Olsen, Southern Methodist University Sara Clark, Southwest Missouri State University Steven Conway, Texas A&M University at Galveston Fay Gibbons, The Australian National University Nadine Stern, The College of New Jersey Deirdre Zarrillo, The Sage Colleges H. Leskinen, TTKK (Finland) Katy Campbell, University of Alberta Brian Alexander, University of California at Davis Steve Terry, University of Memphis Linda Miller, University of New Mexico David McGuire, University of New Mexico Tom Monaghan, University of Notre Dame Gary Dobbins, University of Notre Dame Joseph E. St. Sauver, PhD, University of Oregon Linda H. Mantel, University of Portland Ralph Pina, University of Stellenbosch (S. Africa) Shan Evans, University of Texas at Austin Amos Lakos, University of Waterloo Ryan Schutt, Virginia Tech Dave Eisler, Weber State University John P. Jones, Wichita State University Nicholas Rawlings, Yale University Mark French, Zayed University (United Arab Emirates)