Acknowledgments

The editors would like to acknowledge the help of all involved in the collation and review process of the book. Without their support, this project would not have been satisfactorily completed.

Most of the authors of the chapters also served as referees for articles written by other authors. We thank all those who provided constructive and comprehensive reviews. They helped us greatly. We also thank Akihiro Amano, Seiichi Fujita, Hisashi Harui, Kunihiko Ito, Koichiro Morikawa, Tsutomu Muramoto, Eiji Nezu, Hiromasa Okada, Hitoshi Okada, Hiroshi Osada, Jun-ichi Senda, Katsuya Ue, and Ichihiro Uchida for their constructive suggestions and advice.

Special thanks go to the publishing team at Idea Group Inc., in particular to Kristin Roth, who continuously provided guidance via e-mail to keep the project on schedule, and to Mehdi Khosrow-Pour, whose enthusiasm motivated us initially to accept his invitation to work on this project. Their work was great and should be highly admired.

Finally, we wish to thank all of the authors for their insightful and excellent contributions to this book. Yamori and Kurihara appreciate the Institute for Advanced Research, Nagoya University. The first director of the institute was Professor Ryoji Noyori, who won the Nobel Prize for chemistry in 2001. Yamori has belonged to the Institute since 2003. This project initially started when Kurihara was a visiting scholar at the Institute.

The editors,

Yutaka Kurihara Sadayoshi Takaya Nobuyoshi Yamori