B2C Online Consumer Behavior

B2C Online Consumer Behavior

DOI: 10.4018/978-1-4666-1800-8.ch005
OnDemand PDF Download:
No Current Special Offers

Chapter Preview


Learning Objectives

After completing this chapter, you will be able to:

  • Understand online shoppers’ lifestyles and their preferences for online purchasing channels;

  • Understand different models of online consumer behavior;

  • Describe the various components of online consumer behavior;

  • Define trust and describe its various dimensions related to online consumer behavior;

  • Define perceived risk and describe its various dimensions related to online consumer behavior;

  • Define electronic service quality and describe its various dimensions related to online consumer behavior.


Web Award Competition

Website awards are a great way to recognize talented individual and team efforts in outstanding website development and generate Internet marketing exposure for the award winning website. The Web Marketing Association was founded in 1997 to help set a high standard for Internet marketing and development of the best websites. Staffed by volunteers, this organization is made up of Internet marketing, online advertising, PR, and top website design professionals who share an interest in improving the quality of online advertising, internet marketing, and website promotion.

The Web Marketing Association is the producer of the Web Award Competition. Now, the Web Award program is the premier annual website award competition that names the best websites in 96 industries while setting the standard of excellence for all website development. Winning a website award is also an Internet marketing opportunity for the award winning website.

Figure 1.

WebAward program


Web Award's Judging - Determining the Best of the Web

Each candidate website is assigned to three or more expert judges for evaluation. The Award Judges are informed of the mission statement and prospective audience for the site and provided a link with password, if needed, to enter and review the site. Award judges are not told who submitted the entry or to which category it is entered. They then visit the site, starting with the URL provided on the entry form, and assume the role of a target user. After reviewing the site, they enter their scores and record their observations and comments before moving on to the next site. At the conclusion of judging, the two highest scores are averaged for the final score.

Entries will be judged on the following seven criteria on a scale of 0-10 points:

  • Design

  • Innovation

  • Content

  • Technology

  • Interactivity

  • Copywriting

  • Ease of use

Each site is judged on each of the seven criteria, earning a score between 0 and 70 points. The highest score in a given category wins Best Website of that industry. Only one Best Website of each industry will be given (except in the case of a tie). The previous Best Website winners include British Airway, Behr Paint, Bank of America, and Walt Disney.

After reading this chapter, you will be able to answer the following:

  • 1.

    What are the major factors that affect consumers’ web experience?

  • 2.

    How can organizations improve online consumers’ trust in the context of e-commerce?

  • 3.

    How can organizations decrease information security risk perceived by online consumers?

Complete Chapter List

Search this Book: