International Journal of Signs and Semiotic Systems (IJSSS)

International Journal of Signs and Semiotic Systems (IJSSS)

Now International Journal of Semiotics and Visual Rhetoric (IJSVR)
Interim Editor-in-Chief: Mehdi Khosrow-Pour, D.B.A. (Information Resources Management Association, USA)
Indexed In: INSPEC and 12 more indices
Published: Semi-Annually |Established: 2011
ISSN: 2155-5028|EISSN: 2155-5036|DOI: 10.4018/IJSSS
Out of print.


The International Journal of Signs and Semiotic Systems (IJSSS) combines interdisciplinary approaches on theoretical, empirical, formal, and computational research that contributes to the design and synthesis of semiotic systems, including biological evidence and evolutionary and philosophical frameworks. This journal publishes original research on the design, analysis, and synthesis of semiotic processes in biological and artificial systems and encompasses technological applications on computational modeling of semiotic production, computing, interpretation, and communication. Articles included in this publication present comparative approaches to semiotic processes including evolutionary, synthetic and analytic perspectives.

Topics Covered

  • Adaptive advantage of iconic, indexical, and symbolic systems and processes
  • Biologically inspired models of semiotic systems
  • Collaborative semiotic processes and applications
  • Embodied and situated semiotic processes
  • Emergence and evolution of semiotic processes
  • Evolution of information interpretation systems
  • Meaning
  • Meaningful text mining
  • Semiotic dynamics and complexity
  • Semiotic systems
  • Sign and symbol grounding
  • Sign production, computing, interpretation, and communication
  • Societal and organizational semiotic processes
  • Technological semiotic artifacts
  • Umwelt, semiotic landscapes, and niches

Mission and Scope

The mission of the International Journal of Signs and Semiotic Systems (IJSSS) is to provide a forum for comparative, evolutionary, theoretical, and empirical perspectives on computational modeling of semiotic systems and processes, and to present formal and synthetic simulation, implementation, and realization of computer machines and robots involved in these systems and processes. This journal offers a collaborative approach to innovative research geared toward a deeper understanding of semiotic processes and an integrated vision of synthesis in artificial systems. As an integral reference for community researchers in the field, this publication explores recent developments in neurocognitive science, cognitive ethology, second order cybernetics, cognitive semantics, pragmatic linguistics, theoretical semiotics, biosemiotics, and evolutionary biology.

Table of Contents and List of Contributors

Search this Journal:
Volume 5: 2 Issues (2016)
Volume 4: 2 Issues (2015)
Volume 3: 2 Issues (2014)
Volume 2: 2 Issues (2012)
Volume 1: 2 Issues (2011)
View Complete Journal Contents Listing


Editor(s)-in-Chief Biography

Mehdi Khosrow-Pour, D.B.A., received his Doctorate in Business Administration from the Nova Southeastern University (Florida, USA). Dr. Khosrow-Pour taught undergraduate and graduate information system courses at the Pennsylvania State University – Harrisburg for almost 20 years. He is currently Executive Editor at IGI Global ( He also serves as Executive Director of the Information Resources Management Association (IRMA) ( and Executive Director of the World Forgotten Children’s Foundation ( He is the author/editor of more than 100 books in information technology management. He is also currently the Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal of Green Computing, International Journal of Library and Information Services, International Journal of E-Entrepreneurship and Innovation, and International Journal of Natural Computing Research, and is also the founding Editor-in-Chief of the Information Resources Management Journal, Journal of Electronic Commerce in Organizations, Journal of Cases on Information Technology, and the Journal of Information Technology Research, and has authored more than 50 articles published in various conference proceedings and scholarly journals.

Editorial Board

Associate Editors
Angelo Cangelosi, University of Plymouth, United Kingdom
Peter Cariani, Boston University, United States
Rodney Clarke, University of Wollongong, Australia ORCID
Claus Emmeche, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
James Fetzer, University of Minnesota Duluth, United States
Ricardo Gudwin, DCA/FEEC/UNICAMP, Brazil
Mihai Nadin, University of Texas at Dallas, United States
Ahti-Veikko Pietarinen, University of Helsinki, Finland
Luis Rocha, Indiana University, United States
Frederik Stjernfelt, Aalborg University, Denmark
Jon Umerez, University of the Basque Country, Spain
Editorial Review Board
Eugenio Andrade, National University of Colombia, Colombia
Argyris Arnellos, University of the Aegean, Greece
Anthony Chemero, Franklin and Marshall College, United States
Hui Cheng, Liverpool John Moores University, United Kingdom
Robert Clowes, University of Sussex, United Kingdom
Vincent Colapietro, The Pennsylvania State University, United States
John Collier, University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Marcel Danesi, University of Toronto, Canada
Gerd Doeben-Henisch, University of Applied Sciences, Germany
Charbel Nino El-Hani, Federal University of Bahia, Brazil
Donald Favareau, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Tom Froese, University of Tokyo, Japan
Bruno Galantucci, Yeshiva University, United States
Tao Gong, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Maria Gonzalez, UNESP - Marilia, Brazil
Patrick Grim, State University of New York at Stony Brook, United States
Risto Hilpinen, University of Miami, United States
Lorenzo Magnani, University of Pavia, Italy
Koichiro Matsuno, Nagaoka University of Technology, Japan
Alexander Mehler, Goethe-Universitaet Frankfurt am Main, Germany
David Myers, Loyola University New Orleans, United States
Chrystopher Nehaniv, University of Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Sami Paavola, University of Helsinki, Finland
Leonid Perlovsky, Harvard University, United States
Roberto Poli, University of Trento, Italy
Robert Port, Indiana University, United States
Alexander Riegler, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
Stanley Salthe, Binghamton University, United States
João Sequeira, Instituto Superior Técnico, Portugal
Chris Sinha, Lund University, Sweden
Göran Sonesson, Lund University, Sweden
Maria Violi, University of Bologna, Italy
Paul Vogt, Tilburg University, Netherlands
Wolfgang Wildgen, University of Bremen, Germany