Building Information Modelling Maturity Matrix

Building Information Modelling Maturity Matrix

Bilal Succar (ChangeAgents AEC, Australia)
DOI: 10.4018/978-1-60566-928-1.ch004
OnDemand PDF Download:
No Current Special Offers


Building Information Modelling (BIM) is an expanding collection of concepts and tools which have been attributed with transformative capabilities within the Architecture, Engineering, Construction and Operations (AECO) industry. BIM discussions have grown to accommodate increasing software capabilities, infinitely varied deliverables, and competing standards emanating from an abundance of overlapping definitions attempting to delineate the BIM term. This chapter will steer away from providing its own definition of BIM yet concurs with those identifying it as a catalyst for change (Bernstein, 2005) poised to reduce industry’s fragmentation (CWIC, 2004), improve its efficiency (Hampson & Brandon, 2004) and lower its high costs of inadequate interoperability (NIST, 2004). In essence, BIM represents an array of possibilities and challenges which need to be understood and met respectively through a measurable and repeatable approach. This chapter briefly explores the multi-dimensional nature of the BIM domain and then introduces a knowledge tool to assist individuals, organisations and project teams to assess their BIM capability, maturity and improve their performance (Figure 1). The first section introduces BIM Fields and Stages which lay the foundations for measuring capability and maturity. Section 2 introduces BIM Competencies which can be used as active implementation steps or as performance assessment areas. Section 3 introduces an Organisational Hierarchy/Scale suitable for tailoring capability and maturity assessments according to markets, industries, disciplines and organisational sizes. Section 4 explores the concepts behind ‘capability maturity models’ and then adopts a five-level BIM-specific Maturity Index (BIMMI). Section 5 introduces the BIM Maturity Matrix (BIm³), a performance measurement and improvement tool which identifies the correlation between BIM Stages, Competency Sets, Maturity Levels and Organisational Scales. Finally, Section 6 introduces a Competency Granularity Filter which enables the tailoring of BIM tools, guides and reports according to four different levels of assessment granularity.
Chapter Preview

1 Building Information Modelling: A Brief Introduction

Building Information Modelling is a set of interacting policies, processes and technologies (Succar, 2009) generating a “methodology to manage the essential building design and project data in digital format throughout the building’s life-cycle” (Penttilä, 2006). This definition is one of tens of attempts to delimit the BIM domain which - as a term- continues to expand in coverage and connotation. It is important – if we acknowledge BIM’s value in assisting the AECO industry and are inclined to assist in its systematic adoption - to identify the domain’s knowledge structures, internal dynamics and implementation requirements. These can be best represented through a tri-axial understanding of the BIM domain (Figure 2):

  • BIM Fields of activity identifying domain ‘players’, their ‘requirements’ and ‘deliverables’.

  • BIM Stages delineating minimum capability benchmarks.

  • BIM Lenses providing the depth and breadth of enquiry necessary to identify, assess and qualify BIM Fields and BIM Stages.

    Figure 2.

    BIM framework: Fields, Stages and Lenses – tri-axial model


Key Terms in this Chapter

BIM Steps: BIM Steps are the evolutionary or incremental steps that need to be completed to reach or progress within a BIM Stage (also see BIM Competency Sets below).

BIM Competency Sets: A BIM Competency Set is a hierarchical collection of individual competencies identified for the purposes of BIM implementation and assessment. If BIM Competencies are used for the purposes of active implementation, they are referred to as BIM Steps. However, if used for assessing existing implementations, they are referred to as BIM Areas.

BIM Organisational Scales: The BIM Organisational Scale is a hierarchical subdivision of markets, industries, project teams and organisations for the purpose of BIM capability and maturity measurement.

BIM Capability Stages: BIM Capability is the basic ability to perform a task, deliver a service or generate a product. BIM Capability Stages define the major milestones to be achieved by teams and organisations as they adopt BIM technologies and concepts. BIM Stages are defined by their minimum requirements.

BIM Maturity Index: The term ‘BIM maturity’ refers to the quality, repeatability and degrees of excellence within a BIM capability. As opposed to ‘capability’ which denotes a minimum ability, maturity denotes the extent of that ability. The BIM Maturity Index (BIMMI) is a process improvement framework – with five distinct levels - developed to assess the maturity of BIM players, their requirements and deliverables across organisational scales.

BIM Fields: BIM Fields are conceptual clusters of domain players interacting and overlapping within the AECO industry. There are three BIM Field Types (Technology, Process and Policy) and three Field Components (Players, Requirements and Deliverables).

BIM Maturity Matrix: The BIM Maturity Matrix (BIm³) is a performance assessment and improvement tool which incorporates BIM Stages, Competency Sets, Organisational Scales and Granularity Levels.

BIM Lenses: BIM Lenses are distinctive layers of analysis which allow the researchers to selectively focus on any aspect of the AECO industry and generate knowledge views that either (a) highlight observables which meet the research criteria or (b) filter out those that do not.

Complete Chapter List

Search this Book: